A New Perspective

IMG_0724 IMG_0729 IMG_0728 IMG_0726 IMG_0727 IMG_0730

This is the most recent project I have done in my graphic design class; an animal portrait. We could pick any animal we wanted, and we had to study it in four different ways.

The first box was just to show the animal as it was, which in my case was a stag. It was completely open to do whatever you wanted; I’ve seen other works where the antler points connect and create some sort of geometric shape, so I gave it a try myself and this is what came out of it. I really have no rhyme or reason as to why I did it this way, but I think its creative and unique and I am happy with what I came up with. The next box I had to redraw the stag with only curvilinear lines. Then, you had to draw the animals habitat with horizontal lines, showing depth through varying line thickness. You next took a closer look into the habitat, and made a planar design that emphasized the shadows. The last box shows what the animal eats, and you have to draw it with a consistent line and somehow show volume.

I’m really happy with how my work turned out. In graphic design, its good to show a client a variety of designs to see what they really like and to give them options. It was really fun to experiment with line and volume, and to still have something to openly be playful and creative with in your own way. This project helps prepare you because your looking at a subject in several different ways, which is exactly what you do in the real world of the job.

One thought on “A New Perspective

  1. Nice. It turned out well. The environment drawing is very clear in what I’m looking at, the curvilinear works well, and the food source drawing I particularly like. Thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

